top of page

Budget-friendly farmhouse Christmas tree

Updated: Nov 13, 2019



Its the holidays!!!!


As soon as it hits November, I'm over the pumpkins and ready for all things Christmas. Don't get me wrong, I love spooky season and all the fall decor but once its done Im ready for all the magic that Christmas brings. The cheesy hallmark movies, making gingerbread cookies, homemade hot cocoa, yummy candles burning, decorating the tree, Bing Crosby on repeat, and cozying up by the fire. Especially if the weather is cooperating here in Georgia, (which it usually isn't- angry face) and fortunately for us, here recently it actually has been and its gotten a lot colder. Yay!! The current low for tonight is 25 degrees, Holy moly!! Thats super cold for us southerners, but I am not complaining one bit. I love it so much and it most definitely adds to the Christmas spirit. (Seriously hoping and praying for a little snow this year!) With the amazing colder weather we have been having, it makes me want to soak up all the Christmas feels and get to decorating! I already feel like one month isn't enough to enjoy all of it anyway!


My main Christmas tree for these past few years has been the same 6.5ft traditional green tree that was the first tree I ever bought. While its only a few of years old, and I have loved it so much, I have always wanted a flocked Christmas tree. Me and husband got married recently and now that we have our own house, I really wanted our first Christmas to be special. I was never planning on getting a new tree or taking on such a project but once I got to thinking and my crazy ambitious self got to dreaming.. I really wanted it. I had to figure out what I would do with my original tree, and how to go about affording all the new stuff. It wasn't long and the light bulb was going off! I would take my regular schmegular green tree, dress it up in our master bedroom, (because it would be nice to have some festive decor in there anyway) find the perfect budget-friendly beautifully full and flocked tree that I've been yearning for and put it in our living room! I threw the somewhat impulsive idea on my husband and he totally rolled with it!! Well, not totally but after some convincing (and agreeing on not going over a certain amount, keeping it as affordable as possible) he was on board! I am so thankful to have such an amazing husband that puts up with my constant unpredictable chaos! (Anybody else driving their husbands mad with the DIY projects? lol) Fast forward over tons of research, multiple trips, and determination I am happy to say I did it! By shopping smart, taking advantage of sales and using coupons I was able to keep this project budget-friendly while still achieving the dreamy vision! Im so excited to share all the details with you guys as well as my first official holiday post on how to do an easy farmhouse Christmas tree thats pinterest-worthy but not a million dollars!


 

Im sure a lot of you have heard of or seen the amazing glorious King of Christmas trees all over Instagram (if not, girl go look right now!) and we can all agree how much we would love to add them to our home for the holidays. They are the dreamiest most full flocked trees I have ever seen in my life. With almost 2,000 branch tips and 800 lights these trees are absolutely beautiful all on their own with no decor at all. I have always wanted one but they are on the upwards of $500 (eek! outta my budget) So, after much research I found the winner and my new amazing tree that gives KOC a run for their money, Im so in love with it! Its from Best Choice Products on Amazon and wait for it....with tax it was $192. (wooooooo for trendy cute and budget friendly!! - Also, I kid you not I swear this thing shipped in one day. I ordered and it was on my front porch the next day! Amazon spoils me) After getting it all up, assembled and fluffed I was so impressed with how full and nice it was! It barely shed any flocking and after some decorations it looked like it was straight off a Better Homes and Gardens magazine. If you are interested in buying or checking out this bad boy for yourself, [Click Here] I highly recommend it. It is an absolutely great quality tree with a price you cant beat and it exceeded my expectations.




As for the Ornaments & Decorations-

I really wanted it to embody the farmhouse style but instead of being so muted and neutral, I wanted it to be full of those holly jolly festive reds, greens and champagne colors. All of my ornaments are from a mixture of #Hobbylobby & #Michaels which is super convenient so you only have to travel to two stores. Also, every single item was 50% off at BOTH stores plus coupons are stackable at Michaels! Yaaas!

I always suggest checking your email, the website or the #retailmenot app for coupons before you check out! All the ornaments and decorations are linked below.



Michaels-

Red Matte Ornaments- Here.

Red Shiny Ornaments- Here.

Red Glitter Ornaments- Here.

Champagne Matte Ornaments- Here.

Champagne Glitter Ornaments- Here.

Christmas Sack Ornaments- Here.

Tabacco basket + House Ornament- Here.

Red, Green & White Pom Pom Garland- Here.

Red & White Striped Stocking Garland- Here.

Galvanized Tree Collar- Here.


Hobby Lobby-

Red & White Striped Fabric Ornament- Here.

Sled with Holly Ornament- Here.

Red Truck Ornament- Here.

Peace Wooden Ornament- Here.

Joy Wooden Ornament - Here



All in total with the ornaments, decorations, garland and the tree collar it came out to be $138 + the $192 for the tree so I spent an overall total of $330 on everything which is incredible! Talk about a win!!

I am super happy with how my Farmhouse Flocked Christmas tree turned out and Im even happier that I didn't have to break the bank to make my dream become a reality. I hope this was helpful to you. As always let me know if you have any questions, what you think or if you are going to attempt your own flocked farmhouse tree in the comments! More holiday DIYs to come lovelies!! #Itsthemostwonderfultimeoftheyear


xoxo <3

116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page