top of page

DIY Farmhouse Drop Cloth Curtains



I feel like I have been looking for the perfect neutral farmhouse curtains that are exactly what I want while also being affordable for forever.. After tons of research and shopping with no luck, I decided to finally make my own! Im excited to share with you guys my new favorite curtains of all time and how you can make them super cheap for your home! These curtains are so simple and easy to do. They will go with any decor in any room, can be customized to any length and the best part is they are $11 a panel! Talk about affordable! #success


 

Our windows in our bedroom are standard sized windows and take average full length curtains that are 85 inches in height. I purchased the 6ft x 9 ft canvas drop cloths at Home Depot and this ended up being the perfect size with the fold over! The one pack of drop cloth acts as one single panel (unless you are doing them for a really short window then you might be able to get 2 out of it.) therefore you will need 2 packs per window. To keep it simple and add to the farmhouse look, I got black drapery rings to hang the curtains. (off amazon in bulk for cheap- link below) I wanted to continue to keep this as affordable as possible so I got my curtain rod at Target while they were having a sale. I prefer the matte black look with these style of curtains but obviously this is completely customizable and up to you. I will include mine anyway for those that are interested.


Drop cloth curtains supplies-


 

Step 1.

When you open them up they will have TONS of creases and lines but don't worry, this is no big deal. Throw them in the washer & dryer for a quick cycle. This makes a big difference and will get 85% of all the creases out.



Step 2.

After they are all dry and mostly wrinkle free, now is the time to start ironing to get the remaining lines and creases out. To be honest, I didn't even use an ironing board. I just spread it out on my living room floor, put on a good Disney movie and went to town (feel free to do the best way that works for you.) This step is super important and really what makes them look smooth, nice, and finishes it off so don't skip it. The more time you spend on it, the nicer they will look. As annoying as it is, this really is the most time consuming part of this project and even then it went by fast because its not complicated. This DIY is so easy guys, seriously, anyone can do this beginner level project!



Step 3.

After getting the curtain all smooth and crease free, now you will make the "ruffle" part. While its laying out flat on the floor you will fold the top over. (This part is customizable because you can make it as long or as short as you want) I personally loved the length at 16 inches and went with that. What ever measurement you decide on, you will want to take a measuring tape and make sure its the same all the way across. Once it is, you will take the curtain clips and begin putting them on to set the ruffle in place. I eyeballed the distance between each clip as I put them on making sure they were all as evenly distanced as possible. I ended up using 7 clips on each panel because it was the perfect amount to me.



(optional)

Whether you decide to leave the curtains straight (without the ruffle) or want to make them shorter for a smaller window they will need to be cut which is super easy! You will take a measuring tape and sketch out a light straight line wherever you want the length to be. Cut along the line with a sharp pair of scissors. Take some strong fabric glue and fold over the cut edge fabric to make a finished seam. BOOM, easy and done.


Step 4.

Once you get the curtain rod up on the wall, all thats left to do is hang them up and do a little adjusting and fru-fruing it up and wah-lah! Beautiful affordable farmhouse curtains!



These curtains are so awesome because you get the farmhouse look without the price tag, and they really are so easy for anyone to make! Also, one thing I've found that I really love about them is that they provide the perfect amount of privacy + still let the sunlight in! Win win with these babies.


I hope you loved this step by step tutorial and let me know if you try it out for yourself!

As always please let me know if you have any question down below.


xoxo

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page